Early Childhood

Frühe Kindheit
Picture: Rob&Rose, Zürich

Education begins at birth. Young children learn when they actively explore the world, play, observe, ask questions, and seek answers. For this they need a stimulating environment and attentive adults who support them. Learning experiences in the first years of life are fundamental to children’s development and all later learning processes.

This view on the early years is now widely accepted and has led to broad recognition of early childhood education and its importance. Contributing significantly to this was the Framework for Early Childhood Education and Care in Switzerland (German) published in 2012.

Strategy for Early Childhood Education and Care

The Department of Education also pays great attention to early childhood. In 2009 it published a Background Report (German) and presented Guiding Principles for Early Childhood Education and Care (German) for discussion at a conference (German). Based on that, the department developed the Strategy for Early Childhood Education and Care (German) in 2012, with the overarching objective to give every child good opportunities. To implement the strategy, projects were launched and supported for targeted strengthening of the existing provision of early childhood education in the Canton of Zurich. These include, for example, the projects Learning Opportunities for Children up to Age 4, Zeppelin (German), Transition to Kindergarten (German), and Educational Landscapes (German).

Current focus: Early language development

In the current legislative period, the Department of Education is focusing on promoting early language development, basing its work on the legislative priorities of the cantonal council 2015-2019 and the Strategy for Language Support from Early Childhood to Young Adulthood, 2015 (German). The fundamental concern is that all children should be supported in their language development from the start: in families, daycare centres, day families, or playgroups. This is also meant to specifically improve the starting out opportunities of children from socially disadvantaged or foreign-language backgrounds. This is because good language skills are decisive for educational success.

In a first step, the Department of Education put out the concept paper Concept for Promoting Early Language Development for Children up to Age 4, in May 2017. It aims to contribute to a common understanding of the promotion of early language development and provides a conceptual basis for the development of practical materials such as films on promoting early language development and quality characteristics for promoting language development in playgroups (German).

Petite enfance

Frühe Kindheit
Photo: Rob&Rose, Zürich

L’éducation commence à la naissance. Les enfants en bas âge apprennent en découvrant activement le monde qui les entoure, en jouant, en observant, en posant des questions et en cherchant des réponses. Mais pour cela, ils ont besoin d’un environnement qui les stimule et d’adultes attentifs qui les accompagnent. Les expériences d'apprentissage au cours des premières années de la vie sont déterminantes pour le développement de l’enfant et les processus d’apprentissage ultérieurs.

Le rôle essentiel des premières années n’est désormais plus à démontrer, et l’importance de l’éducation dans la petite enfance est largement reconnue. Paru en 2012, le Cadre d’orientation pour la formation, l’accueil et l’éducation de la petite enfance y a beaucoup contribué.

Stratégie d’encouragement précoce

La Direction de l’éducation du canton de Zurich estime elle aussi qu’il faut accorder à la petite enfance une place centrale. En 2009, elle a publié un rapport (Alllemand) et a présenté, dans le cadre d’une conférence (Allemand), ses lignes directrices sur l’encouragement précoce (Allemand). Sur la base des échanges générés elle a élaboré en 2012 sa stratégie d’encouragement précoce (Allemand) ayant pour but principal de donner à chaque enfant de bonnes chances de réussite. La mise en œuvre de la stratégie a été accompagnée du lancement et du soutien de projets visant à renforcer de manière ciblée l’offre cantonale existante en matière d’éducation précoce. On peut citer à cet égard les projets L’apprentissage chez les enfants de moins de 4 ans, Zeppelin (Allemand), Passage à l’école enfantine (Allemand) ou encore Paysages éducatifs.

Le langage, thème central actuellement

Pour la législature en cours, la Direction de l’éducation met l’accent sur l’acquisition précoce du langage. Elle s’appuie pour ce faire sur les priorités définies par le Conseil d’Etat pour la période 2015-2019 et sur la stratégie «Encouragement systematique de l’acquisition du langage» (Allemand). Le principal objectif est de soutenir chaque enfant dans son développement du langage dés le départ, que ce soit dans la famille, les structure d’accueil de jour, les familles de jour ou les groupes de jeux. Il s’agit d’améliorer de manière ciblée les chances des enfants socialement désavantagés ou parlant une langue étrangère. Car de bonnes connaissances linguistiques sont décisives pour la réussite éducative.

Pour commencer, la Direction de l’éducation a publié en mai 2017 le document «Eléments sur l’acquisition précoce du langage». Ce document vise à contribuer à l’élaboration d’une conception commune de l’acquisition précoce du langage. Il fournit les bases théoriques pour concevoir des offres pratiques, comme des films sur l’acquisition du langage dans la petite enfance ou des critères de qualité pour l’acquisition du langage dans les groupes de jeu (Allemand).